Interview: International Model RAMA DIOUF

This African VOGUE cover girl has started to make strides within the European fashion industry and continues to wow all those who are fortunate enough to grab a glimpse on this Senegal-born beauty.

Here’s a look at an exclusive interview that I conducted with her. ;)

 

 

What is your full name?

Rama Diouf, but you can call me Rama ;-)

 

When and where were you born?

Ho good question, let me think… I was born in Dakar in 1986,
Sénégal, West Africa. Hot sun, soft sand, beautiful sea and baobab
tree!

 

Where did you grow up?

I lived in Dakar from the little sunshine I was to my 21st birthday !
And I think I grew up a bit to 6′ (183cm). Then, my studies took me
to Paris in France where I’ve been living so far ;-)

 

When did your interest in modeling start?

Fashion has always been a passion. In 2006, I participated in the first
edition of “Ébène Top Model” with Katoucha Niane. I never forgot what
she said to me : “Ho, she has a beautiful body!” (laughs). I then tried the
famous Elite Model Look in 2007 ; I was published in the Senegalese
magazine “Relax” ; but I took a break, because my studies in computer sciences took all my time…

 

 How did you get started?

Well, can I say as a free-lancer first?(giggle) In Senegal, but it really
started in France. I did many fashion shows for young fashion
designers, TV commercials (Orange, Smartbox, etc.). I met a lot of good
photographers and did some contests, like “Miss Earth France 2009
beauty contest where I was elected 2nd runner.

 

Was it a rough journey or did things just come along for you?

It was very rough. I had to fight my way in this industry. I would say
80% of failure at castings, time consuming, but fun and… Hey, it’s
fashion!

 

What and when would you say was your breakthrough point?

First agency after 1 year of rough time, first job : Catwalk for the
Grazia’s Street Fashion Show in 2009. Then, I was scooted by 3 more
agencies in which I work today. One of them is Slides Models.

 

What have been your struggles within the industry?

Well, as you noticed, I’m a black model who works in France… which
means struggles! It’s not easy. The predominantly white community
cannot identify with a black woman as the clients said.
Once, I was filtered at the entrance of a casting. A woman took my
composite but did not let me see the client. On leaving, the designer
saw me and asked me to come with him for fittings…
Walking with a 33″ / 24½” / 35″ body and a height of 6′ don’t open all
the doors! ;-)

 

 

What is your main goal?

I would like to become a fashion icon, go as far as possible in the
fashion industry. My main goal? Reveal once again the concept of
“Black Beauty”. And as Barack Obama said, “Yes, we can!”.

 

What is your advice for those little girls watching you, wanting
to be fashion models?

Having the “right” body is something, but the “right” spirit is all. You
have to be passionate, available at all times and above all be able to
overcome failures. In summary, be motivated! :)

 

- first digital editing and last shot are from Mario Epanya ,
- Second is from Gilles Avenel,
- Third is from B-Rouss

Folks, contact Rama if you want to work with them.

Last but not least, you can discover a part of her work here :
http://www.ramadiouf.com :)

3 thoughts on “Interview: International Model RAMA DIOUF

  1. Hi Dre!

    Thanks for your time conducting this interview. I add credits here for the photographers :
    - first digital editing and last shot are from Mario Epanya ,
    - Second is from Gilles Avenel,
    - Third is from B-Rouss,
    - …

    Folks, contact me if you want to work with them.

    Last but not least, you can discover a part of my work here :
    http://www.ramadiouf.com

    Bye and kisses!
    Rama Diouf.

  2. I just love this girl ! She’s like a model for me and I want to have the same course that her. At the moment, it’s the same : i was born at Dakar, now i’m in Paris because of my dad & my dream is to become a model. I’m just on my beginnings but i’ll loved to have some shoots with pro’ photographer now.
    Love you so much Rama !
    bye.

Leave a Reply

