Catching Up With Charu Lochan Dass

charu-skype

”Love, commitment and strength are optimized by the inspiration behind this collection, where each piece transports the wearer to a place of fantasy, leaving an impression that can only be described as ethereal.” – Charu Lochan Dass on her ANJA Collection.

I proudly post this interview as the first for 2016. I got the chance to follow up with the lovely Charu Lochan Dass. The India born Trinidadian designer who I met at BB Fashion Week a couple years ago, and has become one of fashion’s rising stars. We set up a Skype date. It had been a while since we last got the chance to speak, but as we played catch up, she let me in on the latest.

Charu has become quite the whirlwind success since I met her at her first showing in Barbados. With irony ringing in the air, she even recalled the moment I said, ”You’re fantastic. You are going to go places, for sure.” It is a pleasure to see her rise to her potential and this is just the beginning, the tip of the iceberg.

CLD.
CLD Boho Glam collection at NY Fashion Week 2014

– Tell us what you’ve been up to.

-Well, CLD has had showings at St. Martin Fashion Week, New York Fashion Week twice, Mercedes Benz Fashion Week Amsterdam, I’ve got new collections coming and we just did some promo material featuring Barbados’ own Leah Marville.

– What are your newest collections?

– A capsule collection with Trinidadian brand Bikini Cabana and another dubbed the ANJA Collection. The Bikini Cabana collection is a more swimwear/beachwear collection and the ANJA Collection is catered to formal wear.

cld.mbfw

– What was the inspiration behind the collections?

– The collections are inspired by the phenomenal woman, and CLD wishes to create a legacy for her as she personifies the CLD look with her style and elegance.  The Anja Collection was specifically inspired by the aura of the woman in love as she glows luminously from the strength of her sacrifices and commitment.

– Have there been any changes to the aesthetic of the brand?

– I wouldn’t say changes but as a designer I think it’s natural to progress and grow. You create from your inspirations.

cld..amsterdam

cld.amsterdam
MERCEDEZ BENZ FASHION WEEK – AMSTERDAM

– What are your future plans or ideas?

– I really want to do fashion week in London and India, and I’m thinking of doing an Indo-Western theme.

– What would you say was the most memorable or defining moment for you in the last year?

– You know me, I take things one day at a time. Up until now, I cannot say there has been ONE moment. There have been many moments. To me, each show and each moment is as important. It just makes me grow and grow. I’ve never felt like, ”This is the moment. I’m here. I’ve arrived.” Everyday is something new. I don’t see it any other way. I can’t embrace it any other way.

– Any words for aspiring designers?

– Aspiring designers? Let me tell you! If this is really your passion, really your goal, really your dream… then GO FOR IT! It is not all glitz and glamour. It is far from that. It is a lot of hard work. The glamour is only at the end, when all the hard work is done. It’s like 5mins of glitz and glamour, and months of hard work.

– Do you have any specific goals that you would like to accomplish as a designer?

– Oh yeah. I’ve always said that the day I make it on VOGUE, that would be the pinnacle of my career. Anyone that’s in the fashion industry, I think, wants that.

11102610_353121138217460_4798529980730976247_n
FOR FACEBOOK PAGE PLEASE CLICK

 

Leave a Reply

